Recent news from WEFTA
Keep you informed
Nomination WEFTA award 2011 is open
Deadline submission candidates 1st September 2011

During the WEFTA 2010 Meeting, the WEFTA award will be presented during the gala dinner. An award committee will select the best candidate from nominations received.

Chairperson of the Award Committee for WEFTA 2011 is Maria Leonor Nunes from IPIMAR, Lisboa, Portugal.

An annual award can be given by WEFTA to scientists who have contributed significantly and outstanding to the fields of seafood processing, seafood product development, seafood analytical methods, seafood safety, applied seafood science, seafood technology, seafood nutrition, aquaculture or consumer studies related to seafood.
The award consists of a certificate and a gift. Further, the award winner is entitled to visit the following WEFTA meeting without paying a fee. As an alternative to this, the award winner can choose a young scientist to be the recipient of the free attendance to the next meeting. The award will be presented at the official banquet of the annual meeting by the Chairperson of the Award Committee. The year after the award has been received the award winner is invited to give a WEFTA award lecture at the plenary WEFTA meeting.
As WEFTA in particular welcome the participation of young scientists, nomination of candidates having shown remarkable talent early in their career is particularly encouraged.

Read the guidelines for the nomination and fill in the nomination form before 1st September 2011.

The WEFTA awards in 2008, 2009 and 2010

The WEFTA award 2008 was presented for the first time at the 38th Annual WEFTA meeting in Florence. The award winner was Professor Jörg Oehlenschläger at the Max Rubner Institute, Federal Research Centre for Nutrition and Food, Hamburg, Germany. The jury selected Professor Oehlenschläger for his outstanding achievements in seafood research and for his extensive work for WEFTA over many years.

The second award winner, Professor Joop Luten (European Business Developer at Nofima, sr EU advisor at Imares) received at the 3rd Trans Atlantic Fish Technologist (TAFT) meeting in Copenhagen the WEFTA award 2009.This prestigious award is given for his outstanding contribution to the profession of seafood science and technology in Europe and having demonstrated excellent leadership and achievements for WEFTA.

The third WEFTA award winner, Torger Børresen (DTU Food) received at the 40th anniversary WEFTA meeting in Cesme, Turkey the WEFTA award 2010. The jury selected Torger Børresen for his achievements in seafood technology. The jury also recognised his great contribution to the WEFTA as organization well known now in Europe and in particular by his efforts for connecting WEFTA and similar seafood technology organisations in the USA.

WEFTA award nomination 2011